Toddler Storytime – Music/Sound

It has been awhile since I’ve posted because (drum roll, please…) I got a new job! I am now the Youth Services Director at Columbus Public Library in Columbus, Wisconsin. Today was my first official solo day, but the last couple weeks have been busy with training, finishing up SRP, and wrapping up my LTE job. That said, I still have a couple more SRP storytimes to blog about, including this one which was one of my favorite storytime themes so far! So without further ado, here is what I did for Music/Sound Storytime.

Music & Sound (2)

Welcome Song: “We clap and sing hello” (Tune: Farmer in the Dell)

We clap and sing hello, 
we clap and sing hello
With our friends at storytime, 
we clap and sing hello!
(We stomp and sing hello…
We wave and sing hello…)

Sign: Music

STEM Activity: Guess the animal sound – We identified our five senses, and then used our sense of hearing to play a little game. I played a series of animal sound clips on the iPod and challenged the kids to guess what kind of animal was making that noise. Some of the sounds were quite unexpected, like an elephant that sounded like it was growling. It’s not every day that kids get to hear real animal noises, and I think they enjoyed this activity.

Book 1: Squeak, Rumble, Whomp! Whomp! Whomp! by Wynton Marsalis

I abridged this book slightly by paper-clipping some pages together, and I think it worked really well for storytime. It introduces a variety of different noises and has a rhythmic, jazzy beat that had the children and caregivers grooving along. Some kids even joined in saying some of the goofy noises (they especially liked the ambulance and motorcycle). The last page challenges the reader to say all the noises in a tongue-twistery fashion, and I think they got a big kick out of my attempt to say them all quickly.

Song: “This is the Way We Clap Our Hands”

This is the way we clap our hands
Clap our hands, clap our hands
This is the way we clap our hands 
so early in the morning
 
(This is the way we stomp our feet…
This is the way we wiggle our ears…
This is the way we rub our bellies…)

Rhyme: “Tommy Thumbs”

Tommy Thumbs are up (wiggle thumbs up)
And Tommy Thumbs are down (wiggle thumbs down)
Tommy Thumbs are dancin’ (groove thumbs back and forth)
All around the town
Dance ‘em on your shoulders (tap thumbs on shoulders)
Dance ‘em on your head (tap thumbs on head)
Dance ‘em on your knees (tap thumbs on knees)
Then tuck them in to bed (one at a time tuck thumbs into armpits)

Book 2: The Baby Goes Beep by Rebecca O’Connell

This is a nice repetitive text that encourages the audience to move along with the baby’s actions in the story.

Song w/ egg shakers: “I Know a Chicken” – The Laurie Berkner Band, from the CD Whaddaya Think of That?

This was my first time breaking out the shaky eggs, and it was an absolute blast! This song was the perfect fit for dancing with some shakers. I’ll definitely do this one again for future storytimes.

Song: “Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes”

Head and shoulders, knees and toes (knees and toes)
Head and shoulders, knees and toes (knees and toes)
And eyes and ears and mouth and nose
Head and shoulders, knees and toes (knees and toes)

Book 3: If You’re Happy and You Know It by Jane Cabrera

This is a fun storytime book, but only if you have enough energy to pull it off! I sang the whole thing with a little help from some of the grownups in storytime. I was pretty breathless by the end, but I think the kids enjoyed doing all the actions so it was definitely worth it. 🙂

Closing Song: “Icky Sticky Bubble Gum” – David Landau

Craft: Paper plate maracas. I made them ahead of time by stapling a paper plate in half and pouring some uncooked rice inside. The kids decorated them with markers and stickers and took them home to make their own music.

This storytime was a big hit! Several of the caregivers made a point of telling me how much fun it was. Here is the handout I sent home with them. Hopefully your kiddos will have as much fun with this as mine did!

Leave a Reply

