Fall Festival – Autumn Tree Craft

Can you believe it? The official first day of Autumn is only three days away. Although it marks the end of beloved summer and the inevitable arrival of subzero temps, I just love fall. Crisp air, crinkly leaves, apple cider, pumpkin spice everything… There’s just something magical about this time of year.

To celebrate the coming of fall, my library participated in the city’s annual Fall Festival. Our Friends group held a book sale on the library lawn, and I got to do what I do best… A craft, of course!

I collected twigs from my yard (it’s amazing how many craft supplies I get from my yard…) and hot-glued them onto large pieces of white construction paper. I did my best to find the most treelike twigs with multiple prongs, but some of them were just single sticks that I broke into pieces and glued into a “Y” shape. Then I simply set out bowls with fall-colored acrylic paint and Q-tips for applying leaves using a pointillism technique. Easy peasy! The most challenging thing about this project was just keeping everything from blowing away. Packing tape came in handy. 🙂 Here are some pictures from the program. I think they turned out beautifully!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of the great things about this craft was that it appealed to a wide age range. Toddlers and teenagers alike enjoyed putting those little leaves on the bare twig trees. One of my favorite things about doing crafts is seeing how the kids interpret the project differently and apply their own techniques and creativity. It’s so fun to see my idea come to life at their hands.

And sometimes you get the added benefit of creating some new decor… My very own autumn tree is now livening up my office doorway. Welcome, fall!

Fall tree

Leave a Reply

