Storytime – Bedtime

Bedtime Storytime was anything but boring, but it sure did leave some of us feeling a little… *yawn*… sleepy! We snuggled up with our pretend blankies and pillows, listened to some stories, and sang lullabyes together. Not a bad way to spend a chilly autumn morning!

My "bedtime buddy," Memphis, was the guest star at Bedtime Storytime.

My “bedtime buddy,” Memphis, was the guest star at Bedtime Storytime.

Letter of the Week:Bedtime 1

  • Baseball
  • Bowtie – I like to throw in an object that may be a little less familiar to the kids. This was definitely one of them! They all got the “bow” part, but I had to really prompt them to figure out the whole word.
  • Bat – This little guy gave me the opportunity to talk about how bats sleep upside down, and to introduce a new vocabulary word, “nocturnal.” This made for a nice segue into the bedtime theme.

Bedtime 7

Book 1: Can’t Sleep Without Sheep by Susanna Leonard Hill

Song: “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star”

Twinkle, twinkle little star
How I wonder what you are
Up above the world so high
Like a diamond in the sky
Twinkle, twinkle little star
How I wonder what you are

Book 2: Russell the Sheep by Rob Scotton (first group) / I’m Not Sleepy by Jonathan Allen (second group)

Rhyme: “Five in the Bed”

There were five in the bed
And the little one said
“Roll over, roll over”
So they all rolled over
And one fell out

(Continue with “four,” “three,” “two”…)

There was one in the bed
And the little one said
“I’m lonely, so lonely.”
So they all climbed in, and their momma said,
“Good night!”

Book 3: How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight? by Jane Yolen

I have used this book as a read-aloud a couple different times, and it once again proved to be a familiar, soothing favorite.

Craft: Starry Night Sky

Bedtime 3

I (somewhat hastily) cut crescent moon shapes out of white construction paper, and the kids used glue sticks to paste them to blue construction paper. Then they added some Avery star stickers to complete their starry night skies.

I did my best to set a quiet, cozy-comfy scene for this storytime–Lullabyes played on the CD player as they walked in, I encouraged the children to cuddle up with pretend blankies, and talked about nighttime routines. Unfortunately, there seemed to be some “crazy” in the air this round of storytimes, especially during my first group. It was really quite ironic how wound up and cranky many of the kids were this week! It just goes to show that, especially when dealing with children, sometimes things just don’t go as planned (no matter how much you prepare and will it to be “just so”). And that’s okay! I’ll try this theme again in the future, and hopefully we’ll be in a calmer mood next time.

Leave a Reply

